Would you like to share this?



N Gopalaswami

Mr N. Gopalaswami is a former Chief Election Commissioner of India. He is a 1966 batch Indian Administrative Services officer. He took over the charge of CEC on 30 June 2006 and has retired in April 2009.He is currently the president of Vivekananda Educational Society which runs a group of schools in and around Chennai.

Mr Gopalaswami, did his graduation in Chemistry from St. Joseph's College, Tiruchirappalli and is a gold medallist post-graduate in Chemistry from Delhi University and is a diploma holder in Urban Development Planning from University of London.

A dynamic leader, Mr Gopalaswamy worked in various capacities in Gujarat. During 1967 to 1992, he held various top level posts including that of the managing director, Gujarat Communication and Electronics Limited; as member (administration and purchase) in the Gujarat Electricity Board; secretary to Government (science & technology) in technical education and Secretary, Department of Revenue.

MG Devasahayam

Mr M.G. Devasahayam has diverse experience of serving in the Indian Army, Government, (IAS), Corporate Sector, partaking in democratic process, pursuing advocacy of public causes in the voluntary sector. Professionally his expertise is in the areas of Urban Development, Utility Management (Public Transport, Electricity), Government relationship & Governance.

He has participated in Aid to civil power, Indo-Pak War and in counter insurgency insurgency operations.

From Army, Devasahayam moved on to the Indian Administrative Service (Haryana cadre) and has headed Districts, Departments and Public Sector Undertakings in Power and Transportation.

In the Corporate Sector he has been advisor to leading transportation and power companies. In addition he has been Member, Environment & Energy Committee, CII (South).
In the Environment front Devasahayam founded Citizens' Alliance for Sustainable Living and is functioning as its Managing Trustee.

Devasahayam has been active in the democracy and anti-corruption fronts. He is Working Committee Member of the Delhi based Gandhian Seva & Satyagraha Brigade battling corruption and Founder-Convener of the Chennai based Forum for Electoral Integrity, a civil-society coalition that had launched a frontal assault on electoral corruption and money-power in politics.

N Vittal

Mr N Vittal, has a distinguished record of 42 years of service in Public Administration working in Govt of India, the State Govt of Gujarat and the joint sector enterprise Gujarat Narmada Valley Fertilizer Company Ltd.

He brought a creative and innovative approach to his work and in every assignment in his career, left his distinguished mark by way of innovation and improvement.
Mr Vittal graduated in 1958 with BSc Hoours in Chemistry from Loyola College, Chennai. After a short stint as a lecturer in Jamal Mohamad College, Tiruchirapalli he joined the Indian Administrative Service in 1960.

Mr Vittal has been closely connected with industrial management and industrial policy making both in the state of Gujarat and at the Central Govt.

Mr Vittal occupied key policy making positions in both Information Technology and Telecommunication sectors and played a significant role.

After retiring from IAS in 1996, he was appointed by the Govt of India, to be the Chairman of the Public Enterprises Selection Board. He made the procedures of PESB more transparent and improved its  pace  and effectiveness of work.

On Sept 3 1998, he was appointed as the Central Vigilance Commissioner, being the first CVC selected by the new procedure   prescribed  by the Supreme Court , under which  the selection was to be made by  a  committee consisting of the Prime Minister, the Home Minister and the Leader of the Opposition in the Lok Sabha. As the CVC he was able to bring greater visibility, credibility and effectiveness to this organization. He is remembered for using information technology to fight corruption for the first time in the world and also pushing the public sector banks to computerize their operations on a wide basis.

After retirement from active service as CVC in Sept 2002, he has been active in the areas of education and the IT sector.

Mr R Srikumar

Shri R Sri Kumar after serving as IPS officer in various capacities assumed the charge of
Vigilance Commissioner  Sept 2010. He has done his B Tech in Electrical Engineering from
IIT Madras (1970) and Master of Business Laws from National Law School of India University,
Bangalore (2003).

Mr Sri Kumar joined the Indian Police Service in 1973, after a brief stint in the Central Public Works
Dept. From 1973 to 1982, he served in various capacities in Uttar Pradesh. He worked as
SP Vigilance, SP Pratapgarh and Chief Security Officer of UPSRTC etc. before coming to
Karnataka on cadre transfer in April 1982.

His accomplishments in police service include setting up the country's first cyber
crime police station in Bangalore, obtaining ISO quality, environmental and green building
certification for the Karnataka State Police Housing Corporation and playing a vital role in
the successful investigations of many crimes of interstate and international ramifications.
He is also known for using technology to crack some of the most high-profile cases like the
assassination of former Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi, the 1992 Harshad Mehta scam and the
Abdul Karim Telgi fake stamp paper scam.

In 2010, he became Vigilance Commissioner at the Central Vigilance Commission. He
has been actively advocating mobile computing for filing complaints about corruption 
through Project Vigeye, launched by the Central Vigilance Commission with the objective of
empowering citizens to report corruption in their neighbourhood.

Vijay Anand

Engineer from the Government College of Technology (GCT), Coimbatore

An NRI and an engineer from the Government College of Technology (GCT), Coimbatore, Vijay Anand is the Co-founder and President of 5th Pillar. 5th Pillar is an organization that aims to mobilise people power and make it 'Social Capital' through a coalition of citizens to fight corruption, thereby strengthening the four pillars of democracy.